Uganda Cranes Head Coach, Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic released Tuesday his 35-man provisional squad for next year’s African Nations Championship (CHAN) in Algeria.

However, Micho omitted in form KCCA forward Allan Okello and Vipers SC talisman Yunus Sentamu from his squad.

According to Micho, Okello is unavailable for selection since he is still under contract with Algerian side, Paradou AC, and only players with permanent contracts registered in a local club affiliated to their national association are eligible to take part in the competition.

Micho said Okello will be missed but is confident the available players will do the job. “We have players who are practically following in his footsteps in Moses Waiswa, Ibrahim Kasule, and Bright Anukani and all these will help fill the creative gap.”

On the other hand, Micho said Sentamu declined the call-up citing personal reasons.

“We have maintained the core of the team that played the Qualifier matches against Tanzania. We have had the first round of the league running and this helps to put the players in good shape,”  Micho said.

The team will enter residential camp on Wednesday in Kisasi and will have training sessions until 24th December before breaking off for Christmas and return on Boxing day.

They will depart to Tunisia for a Pre-CHAN tournament with 3 or 4 friendlies lined up to fine tune the players.

Uganda is in Group B with Ivory Coast, Senegal, and the Democratic Republic of Congo, and will open their campaign against the latter on January 14th at the 19 May Stadium, Annaba.

Full Provisional Squad
Nafian Alionzi (URA FC), Mathias Muwanga (Onduparaka FC), Emmanuel Kalyowa (BUL FC), Joel Mutakubwa (Gaddafi FC), Jack Komakech (Vipers SC)

Ashiraf Mandela (Vipers SC), James Begisa (URA FC), Grant Matsiko (Wakiso Giants FC), Derrick Ndahiro (URA FC), Isa Mubiru (Vipers SC), Arthur Kiggundu (Express FC), Hillary Mukundane (Vipers SC), Kenneth Ssemakula(SC Villa), Geofrey Wasswa (KCCA FC), Filbert Obenchan (KCCA FC), Gift Fred (SC Villa), Bright Vuni (Arua Hill SC)

Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Marvin Joseph Youngman (Vipers SC), Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), Hussein Ssenoga (Express FC), Abdu Karim Watambala(Vipers SC), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC)

Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers SC), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Moses Aliro (Wakiso Giants FC), Kagawa Ssenoga (KCCA FC), Rogers Kassim Mato (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Vipers SC), Ibrahim Kasule (Wakiso Giants FC), Titus Ssematimba (Wakiso Giants), Frank Ssebufu (Wakiso Giants FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Cromwell Rwothomio (Vipers SC)





Leave A Reply