The 2024 Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally is set to roar into action from May 10-12, 2024, in Jinja district, Eastern Uganda. This year’s event marks the first round of the African Rally Championship (ARC) and the third event on the Uganda rally calendar.

Over 30 drivers, including defending African rally champion Karan Patel and Junior African rally champion Hamza Anwar, both from Kenya, will compete in the highly anticipated event. Top Ugandan drivers like Jonas Kansiime, Jas Mangat, Ronald Sebuguzi, and Ponsiano Lwakataka will also be vying for the top spot.

The rally’s new status as the first round of the ARC adds excitement and sets the stage for the championship’s progression throughout the year. The event’s rich history and competitive spirit are expected to draw large crowds of fans, who will have multiple opportunities to view the rally cars at designated spectator zones.

Jimmy Akena, the new Event Manager, has taken over from Dipu Ruparelia and promises a “wonderful event” with safety as the top priority. The 2024 Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally is supported by several sponsors, including the National Council of Sports (NCS), KCB Bank Uganda, and the Ruparelia Group.

With a total competitive distance of 209.45 kilometers, the rally will feature a free practice and qualifying stage on day one, followed by seven stages on day two and three stages on the final day.


Leave A Reply